

December 12, 2017

The Honorable Paul Ryan 1233 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi 233 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Mitch McConnell 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Charles Schumer 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

RE: Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA)

Dear Speaker Ryan, Leader Pelosi, Leader McConnell and Leader Schumer:

On behalf of the Big Ten universities, we urge you to take action on the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) policy and pass a long-term legislative solution as soon as possible to protect Dreamers, outstanding young people brought to our country as children.

The stories we hear on our campuses are troubling—high achieving young adults with uncertain futures. They are nurses, engineers, and pharmacy students. They are student athletes, leaders in music programs, and active across campus.

These young people are Americans in every way but immigration status. It remains in our country's best interest to enable them to use their knowledge, skills and energy to continue to make the strongest possible contribution to our communities.

Please let us know what we can do to support you in protecting Dreamers and finding a permanent legislative solution to protect these bright, young Americans.

Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) December 12, 2017 Page 2

Sincerely,

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign



Chancellor Robert J. Jones

University of Iowa

JAIL

President J. Bruce Harreld

University of Michigan

Mark Schlins

President Mark Schlissel, MD, Ph.D.

University of Minnesota

Haler

President Eric W. Kaler

Northwestern University

President Morton Schapiro

Penn State University

1 Km-

President Eric J. Barron

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

President Robert L. Barchi

Indiana University

President Michael A. McRobbie

University of Maryland

Willin D L

President Wallace D. Loh

Michigan State University

La Som Kurand

President Lou Anna K. Simon, Ph.D.

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Chancellor Ronnie D. Green, Ph.D.

Ohio State University

President Michael V. Drake, MD

Purdue University

puter Dame

Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr.

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Rebecca Blank

Chancellor Rebecca Blank